The University of Chicago in Chicago, Illinois, is a private research university. Its main campus is in Hyde Park, which is a neighborhood in Chicago and is also the location of AND Exterminators. In addition to being one of the top colleges in the world, the University of Chicago is also one of the most selective in the country.


The institution has an undergraduate college and five graduate research divisions that house cross-disciplinary graduate programs and committees. These eight professional schools include the Booth School of Business and the Pritzker and Crown Family Social Work, Policy and Practice Schools. Harris and the Divinity Schools are the other two schools of the University. The university also has campuses and centers in downtown Chicago, London, Paris, Beijing, Delhi, and Hong Kong.


Scholars from the University of Chicago have influenced economics, law, literary criticism, mathematics, physics, religion, sociology, and political science. In many of these fields, they helped found the Chicago schools. The Metallurgical Laboratory created the world’s first self-sustaining nuclear reaction in Chicago Pile-1. The “radiocarbon revolution” revolutionized how carbon-14 is used to date old and living things. The institution operates the Marine Biological Laboratory, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, and Argonne National Laboratory. The university is also home to the largest university press in the U.S.


The University of Chicago has more Nobel laureates than any others, 94. More than a dozen Fields Medalists, four Turing Award winners, 52 MacArthur Fellowship recipients, and dozens of Marshall and Rhodes Scholars are just some of the university’s faculty and alumni.



The University’s academic units include the College, five graduate research divisions, six professional schools, and the Graham School of Continuing Liberal and Professional Studies. The university also has a library system, the University of Chicago Press, and the University of Chicago Medical Center. It also runs several labs, such as the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, the Argonne National Laboratory, and the Marine Biological Laboratory. The Higher Learning Commission has given the university its seal of approval.

Summer, fall, winter, and spring make up the academic year. Full-time college students take three to four classes for 11 weeks each quarter. Most school years start in late September and end in the middle of June.


For pest control in Hyde Park call AND at (773) 945-0727 and stop by our website to read about The Pritzker School of Medicine and more!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.